#Slow Math is Master Coaching

If you haven’t yet read The Talent Code by Daniel Coyle, you should. Coyle premise is that talent isn’t born – it’s grown. By three important factors: deep practice, ignition, and master coaching. His book has contributed to changing how I look at my role as a teacher.

I ran across Coyle’s blog post recently: There are Two Types of Coaches. Which are You?

Coyle offers a few statements for us to consider to figure out which type. I’ve taken the liberty of replacing the people/workplace/other language with teacher/classroom/student language.

  1. A) I treat all of my students as mostly the same.
  2. B) I treat my students as individuals, with unique motivations, strengths, and weaknesses.

 

  1. A) In my classroom, I focus on drills and repetition.
  2. B) In my classroom, I focus on awareness and feedback, and helping each student take ownership of the process.

 

  1. A) In my classroom, I focus on delivering the knowledge to my students to drive improvement.
  2. B) In my classroom, I focus on building partnerships with my students to create the knowledge together.

 

  1. A) I’m fascinated by designing drills for students to do.
  2. B) I’m fascinated by building plans, tools, and systems for students to use.

 

  1. A) I’m obsessed with each student’s progress.
  2. B) I’m obsessed with each student’s process.

 

So what do you think? Is your focus as a teacher on building skill? Or is your focus as a teacher on building students?

Would your students agree with you?

 

See Coyle’s blog post to find out your official results on his unofficial quiz and check out The Talent Code to read more about becoming a master coach – a builder of people.

Leave a Reply

