Talk Less

I saw Julie’s tweet a few days ago with the hashtag #talklessam (started from one of the sessions at Twitter Math Camp).

My family and I have been listening to Hamilton nonstop for the past 3 weeks, so when I saw talk less, I immediately heard (in tune) Aaron Burr’s advice to Alexander Hamilton when they first met:

Talk less

Smile more

Don’t let them know what you’re against or what you’re for

Although Burr’s advice is a sign of his weakness, I wonder whether it a sign of strength for teachers in a Slow Math classroom. I’ve seen and learned from so many teachers with a great poker face during class discussions. With practice, I have gotten better at not giving away who is correct and who is incorrect. I’ve gotten better at asking “are you sure” to both correct and incorrect responses so that students have to discuss why they are answering what they are answering.

How might you implement Burr’s advice in your next lesson?

I think of Tim Kanold’s blog post Leaving the Front of the Classroom Behind, in which he urges us to look at how much time we are leading from the front and how much time students have the opportunity for peer to peer discourse.

Robert Kaplinsky recently issued a call to action to post a sign on your door, welcoming observers to your classroom to give feedback on what you’re working on. Maybe you want to combine Tim’s advice with Aaron Burr’s and ask someone to time the interactions in your classroom. How many minutes are you talking compared to your students?

I’ll look forward to reading about your experience over at #ObserveMe and #talklessam.

Leave a Reply

